Shepolopolo regroup for COSAFA

Written by on June 26, 2019



THE Zambia women national team has regrouped in Lusaka for 10-day training camp in preparation for the 2019 COSAFA Women Championship slated for Port Elizabeth in South Africa from July 31 to August 11.

According to, Coach Bruce Mwape has retained the core of the 2018 Africa Cup of Nations squad with some new additions also roped in.

Spain-based Barbara Banda who is on the books of EDF Legrono is also part of the squad currently in camp.

Zambia emerged fourth at the 2018 championship and also made it to the Africa Cup of Nations in Ghana where they were eliminated in the first round.

The 2019 COSAFA Women’s Championship will be staged in the coastal city of Port Elizabeth for the second year running as hosts South Africa seek to retain the title they won 12 months ago.

According to COSAFA the 2019 Women’s Championship will again have a field of 12 teams this year.

Among the confirmed participants are Angola, Botswana, Comoros Islands, Eswatini, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, Zimbabwe, Zambia and hosts South Africa.

The draw for the competition will take place on Wednesday, July 3 and will see the 12 teams split into three groups each containing four sides.

The top team in each pool will advance to the semifinals along with the best-placed runner-up.

There will be two stadiums used, the 10,000-seater Wolfson Stadium and the homelier Gelvandale Stadium.



Tricia Mutale (Konkola), Hazel Nali, Maleta Muwindwa (Green Buffaloes), Edith Zulu (Yasa), Dyness Kasuka (Red Arrows)


Lweendo Chisamu, Agness Musesa, Anita Mulenga Martha Tembo (all Green Buffaloes), Margret Belemu (Red Arrows) Arrows, Patricia Lampi (Yasa), Lushomo Mweemba (Nkwazi), Grace Nanyiza (Indeni), Miniver Chitundu (Zesco), Edah Lungu (Evergreen), Jackline Nkole (Indeni)


Natasha Witika (Zesco) Rachael Lungu,Hellen Chanda, Mary Mulenga (all Red Arrows),Kasonde Juliet Kasonde (Moba Queens), Naomi Chiwele Naomi, Rhoda Chileshe (both Indeni Roses), Judith Zulu (Green Buffaloes), Mary Mwakapila (Green Buffaloes), Vast Phiri (Zesco)

Ochumba Oseke (Nkwazi), Grace Chanda, Hellen Mubanga, Tukiya Mufishi, Square Maiwase (all Red Arrows), Dorothy Chimfwembe (Chiparamba Breakthrough), Racheal Nachula (Green Buffaloes), Avell Chitundu (Zesco), Misozi Zulu (Indeni Roses), Barbra Banda (EDF Logrono)

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track