Written by on February 26, 2019

In conquering the 1984 title, Chansa’s Dynamos accumulated 33 points from 22 matches in a 2-points-for-win awarding system at the time, one better than runners-up Mufulira Wanderers while dethroned champions Nkana Red Devils, as Nkana Fc were known then, collected 31 points.

After a wait of seven years, Chansa would collect his second Premier League winners’ medal with Dynamos and, like in 1984, Dynamos wrestled the reigns of power from Kitwe arch-rivals Nkana in 1991, this time around, beating them by 3 points to the title race (61-58) in the 14-team league, meaning each team playing a mandatory 26 matches.

That year, Chansa was the 5th national top-scorer in all competitions with 15 goals – 9 of them in the league, the same as overall top-scorer John Zyambo of Red Arrows who netted 20 over and above.

Another Dynamos player, Boyd Chilembo, was second overall scoring the most goals in the league at 14 and 19 in total tally while Nkana Red Devils’ (Nkana FC) winger Golden Kazika rattle in 18 to occupy 3rd place.

In joint 4th were Chansa’s club-mate Bonnie Muma and Ndola United’s Harrison Bwalya whose respective tallies were 16 goals each.

Elsewhere, on the collective front as a team, Chansa would emerge victorious only once in the Charity Shield, that hour of glory coming in 1985. Power hammered Kabwe United 4-0 on March 3 in the final played at Nchanga Stadium, home to 2-time top top-flight winners Nchanga.

Chansa would also pick a losing-finalists’ medal in the same competition on February 1992 when his team was totally and completely destroyed 3-0 by Kabwe Warriors at Lusaka’s Woodlands’ Stadium, this is despite fielding a star-studded team that had the likes of goalkeeper Derrick Katongo with a defence comprising John Soko, winter Mumba, Edwin Kanyanta and Robert Watiyakeni.

The midfield had Aggrey Chiyangi, Linos Makwaza and Richard Sikanyika with Kenani Simambe and and Chansa himself being the two frontline spearheads.

The Warriors’ men who fired the three deadly missiles to flatten Dynamos were Maybin M’gaiwa, Timothy Mwitwa and defender Whiteson Changwe.

The man they fondly nicknamed Whizz also won the BP Challenge Cup and Independence Cup (Mosi Cup) once each – coincidentally in the same year – 1990.

In the former tournament, Chansa and Co. soundly beat Profund Warriors (NAPSA Stars FC) in a final staged at Independence Stadium. The versatile Sumerbee and the exciting winger Pearson Mwanza were the scorers.

In winning the 1990 Independence Cup winners medal, Chansa and his mates narrowly beat Kalulushi Modern Stars with a lone Linos Makwaza goal at the same venue.

The other collection of titles that Chansa is associated with at Dynamos is that of wining the Champions of champions Cup twice in 1984 and 1990.

And when Dynamos became the first Zambian club to ever win the a continental trophy in 1991, beating Nigeria’s BCC Lions 4-3 on aggregate in the African Cup Winners’ Cup now known as CAF Confederations Cup, he was a vital cog of the three-man technical bench of Freddie Mwila, Alex chola and Jim Bone.

Elsewhere, Chansa was part of the 1983Dynamos’ team that won the six-nations’ Rothman’s International Trophy Invitational tournament held in Abidjan, Ivory Coast in May of that year.

Chansa’s Dynamos edged out Cameroon’s Tonnere Yaoundé FC 5-4 on post-match penalties after regulation time produced a goal-less stalemate.

International career

Capped for Zambia between 1985 and 1993, Chansa made three African Cup of Nations (AfCON) appearances in 1986, 1990 and 1992.

He was also part of the famous 1988 Zambian squad to the Seoul Olympics and played regularly in the World Cup qualifiers for the 1986 Mexico, Italia 1990 and USA 1994 World Cup qualifiers.

In the 1986 Egypt-held AfCON tournament, Chansa was an integral part of the Jones Chilengi-captained squad that would go out, sadly, in the first round, finishing bottom of Group B with a single point in three matches behind pool winners Cameroon (5 points), runner-up Morocco (4 points) and third-placed Algeria (2 points).

Zambia lost 3-2 to Cameroon in their opening match and were also beaten 1-0 by Morocco and in between drew 0-0 with fellow group dark horses Algeria.

After missing out on the 1988 AfCON championship because of the punishment CAF meted out on Zambia for failing to host the event that year’s event, after she won the right to host but failed to fulfil the actual hosting of the bi-annual showpiece, Chansa and Co would resurface at the 1990 Algeria-staged tournament where she reaped bronze after a narrow 1-0 win over Senegal in the third play-off, Webster Chikabala getting the crucial goal that gave Zambia the much-needed victory on March 19, 1990.

Earlier, Chansa’s Zambia had topped her Group B with five points following a 1-0 defeat of Cameroon which was followed by yet another identical score-line in nudging out Kenya in the second match.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track