Written by on August 26, 2019



BAFANA Bafana stand-in coach Molefi Ntseki has announced a 23-member squad to face Zambia in an international friendly match to be played in Lusaka next month.

Nktseki made nine changes to the squad that participated in the 2019 AFCON tournament in Egypt in June.

He  has recalled France-based Keagan Dolly of French Ligue 1 side

Montpellier, Supersport United striker Bradley Grobler and Cape Town City striker Kermit Erasmus, among others.

This will be Ntseki’s first match he will be in charge of following the resignation of head coach Stuart Baxter.

The clash is scheduled for Saturday, September 7, in Lusaka at a venue yet to be announced by FAZ.

Both Zambia and South Africa will use the match to prepare for the upcoming back-to-back 2021 Africa to be played in November.

This will be the 22nd time Chipolopolo will be playing Bafana Bafana with Zambia winning seven, losing six and eight matches ending in a draw.

Stand-in coach Numba Mumamba, who is expected to take charge of the team, will most likely name a similar squad that played against Namibia in March earlier this year at Heroes Stadium.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Darren Keet (OH Leuven, Belgium), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Brandon Petersen (Bidvest wits).

Defenders: Erick Mathoho (Kaizer Chiefs), Buhle Mkhwanazi, Thulani Hlatshwayo (both Bidvest Wits), Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates), Thato Mokeke (Cape Town City).

Midfielders: Kamo Mokotjo (Brentford, England), Rivaldo Coetzee (Mamelodi Sundowns), Dean Furman (SuperSport United).

Others are Lebo Phiri (Guingamp, France), Bongani Zungu (Amiens, France), Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates), Thulani Serero (Vitesse, Netherlands), Lebo Maboe (Mamelodi Sundowns), Keagan Dolly (Montpellier, France).

Forwards: Percy Tau (Club Brugge, Belgium), Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg, France), Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United), Kermit Erasmus (Cape Town City).

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track