Written by on June 11, 2019

ZANACO FC midfielder  Tafadzwa Rusike has been left out of Zimbabwe’s 23-man 2019 AfCON team which kicks off in Cairo Egypt on June 21.

This is according to a final squad announced on Sunday by head coach Sunday Chidzambwa who has kept faith in most of his players who played in the qualifiers.

Rusike was part of the Warrior’s COSAFA outing in Durban last week and played a vital role in the third/fourth plate play-off against Lesotho.

The midfielder scored the opening goal in a 2-all draw after regulation time with the match later decided on post match penalties which was won by Zimbabwe to claim the bronze medal at the just ended COSAFA Cup tournament in South Africa.

Rusike inspired ZANACO to a second place finish  in the just ended transitional league, scoring eight goals and was named captain of the side in a number of games he featured for the bankers.

Warrior’s squad had three players from the Zambian super league.

Rusike and Lusaka Dynamos defender, Dennis Dauda have missed out on the list of players traveling to Egypt for the AfCON while Power Dynamos defender Jimmy Dzingai has made the final list in the travelling party.

The Warriors coach has kept faith in most of the players who won him qualification to the AfCON finals with the only new additions – goalkeeper Elvis Chipezeze, midfielder Thabani Kamusoko and China-based Nyasha Mushekwi.

Zimbabwe take on hosts Egypt on the opening day, then Uganda and DR Congo on the final day of Group A matches

The Zambian League has provided a number of players to the Egypt AfCON bound squads with Burundi and Kenya  yet to announce their final squads.

The final Zimbabwe national team is as follows:

Goalkeepers: George Chigova, Edmore Sibanda, Elvis Chipezeze.

Defenders: Tendayi Darikwa, Jimmy Dzingai, Divine Lunga, Teenage Hadebe, Alec Mudimu, Ronald Pfumbidzai.

Midfielders: Marshall Munetsi, Marvelous Nakamba, Danny Phiri, Ovidy Karuru, Kuda Mahachi, Talent Chawapihwa, Khama Billiat, Knowledge Musona, Tafadzwa Kutinyu, Thabani Kamusoko.

Strikers: Nyasha Mushekwi, Tino Kadewere, Evans Rusike, Knox Mutizwa.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Continue reading

Current track