Driver dies, six injured in head on car collision

Written by on July 9, 2020

TWO people have died in a fatal road traffic accident in Petauke District, Eastern Commissioner of Police Lackson Sakala has said.

Mr Sakala said involved was a Subaru Legacy ACZ 4808 which was driven by an officer from the Office of the President, Reagan Chanda 32 and a Toyota Corolla ABZ 473 driven by Chavu Lungu 47.

In an interview Mr Sakala said the accident happened when the driver of the Subaru was overtaking two vehicles ahead of him and in the process collided head on with an oncoming motor vehicle Toyota Corolla.

Mr Sakala said the Toyota corolla which was carrying six passengers had its front part extensively damged causing the death of the driver and a seven year old juvenile.

He said the incident happened on July 7 around 11:00 hours at Waleta Farms area, along Petauke main road, within the Township.

“The Subaru Legacy had three passengers and had its front part extensively damaged apart from the driver Chanda who sustained general body pains,”

“Buxton Mwansa 25 an OP officer also sustained and general body pains and Chikuse phiri 33 a Teacher at Petauke Primary School who sustained painful right leg they have all been admitted to Petauke District Hospital,” he said.

Mr Sakala said the driver of the Toyota died upon arrival at Petauke hospital after sustaining deep cuts on the forehead and internal injuries while, a seven year old juvenile Japhet Phiri, 7 died on the spot after sustaining fatal head injuries and his body had been deposited at Petauke District Hospital Mortuary.

He said other passengers were Edward Banda 33 sustained suspected fractured right leg, Mirriam Njobvu aged 44 sustained deep cut on face, Violet Njobvu 47 had a deep cut on the four head.

Mr Sakala said Siliya Tembo, 26, sustained two broken upper teeth while Abilesi Njobvu 34 sustained chest pains and they are admitted at Petauke District Hospital.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track